I woke up just now…from a dream I just had, and I want to capture what I just dreamt to share with you.  This was the last scene of a dream sequence I was having:

I was sitting at a table, eating a strange meal, and a young lady approaches me to talk to me and ask me some questions:

“I’m at a crossroads in my life, and I don’t know what to do.  I’m thinking that I want to go to the military, but I just don’t know.  I’m struggling in my faith right now, and I haven’t really  been very spiritual.  I don’t know, if I ask God of anything, if he’ll answer me.  I don’t even know how he’ll answer me.  If I pray now, how do I know that the answer came from Him?  Is it something that I feel…or will I hear Him?”

I remember just sitting there, smiling silently for about half a minute (which sure seemed pretty long).  Then I remember saying, “It can happen both ways.  Either way.   It can come as a feeling of goodness in both your mind and in your heart.  Or, God can choose to speak to you in a quiet voice to your mind, much like a thought comes to you.  He’ll speak to you in a way that you’ll understand.  And if it means that much to you to hear His voice, let Him know.”

I wanted to tell her more, to grab the scriptures so I could show her a few things and give a few cautions.

Then I woke up.  I never got to finish my response to her, and the dream is fading fast from my memory.

Here’s what I wanted to tell her:

He’ll either speak to you through that still, small voice…or he’ll “speak” to you in a different way…the way of the heart…through a warmth, an all-embracing feeling of love.

In the scriptures, the Lord teaches us about how we’ll get answers when we pray…when He says:

“I say unto you, that assuredly as the Lord liveth, who is your God and your Redeemer, even so surely shall you receive a knowledge of whatsoever things you shall ask in faith, with an honest heart, believing that you shall receive a knowledge concerning the [things you ask of].

I will tell you in your mind and in your heart, by the Holy Ghost, which shall come upon you and which shall dwell in your heart.

Now, behold, this is the spirit of revelation;”

link

What does this all mean?

Some of us have forgotten what it’s like to talk to God; it’s been that long.  Some of us don’t think that we’re worth listening to…that we’re so insignificant, why would He even care about someone like us.  Some of us don’t think there’s anyone up there at all.  Some of us don’t even care if there is anyone out there, that there are more pressing, more urgent, more entertaining matters to deal with right in front of us than to take time to pray to some unseen, unknown being out there.

Yet…despite all that, when you really look deep inside, with an honest heart, and you set aside all excuses, justifications, and doubts…don’t you really want to know?

Do you really want something revealed to you?  Well, that’s Revelation…the idea and process that something will be revealed to you.  It’s where your understanding will be expanded.  It’s where you’ll be given knowledge.  You will discover something.  You will be inspired.  Or you will be questioned.  Is it directly the answer to the question you have?  Maybe, if you’re ready to embrace that answer…and then do something about it.

Sometimes, we don’t get that answer we’re looking for…just yet.  Maybe it’s because there’s something about ourselves that we need to understand first…something that we need to work on first.  Maybe it’s because of how we see God…and we need to change that.  Maybe it’s because of how we think God sees us…and we need to change that.  Even that in itself is a revelation.

However, when we ask with an honest heart, and we’re ready to believe whatever answer we’re given, and we’re willing to trust the Giver of that answer…and we’re willing to trust that answer…and embrace it, whatever it is, then we’re presenting ourselves as an open container to God, a willing container, ready to be filled.

And so ask.  Ask Him!  Talk to Him!  He is there!  Just waiting to give you that which you’re looking for…and ready to receive as an open container.  And then listen.  Listen with an honest heart.  Set aside your doubts…because they will start to fly in your face.  Trust that He’ll answer.  Sometimes, it’s Silence first…because you’re not really listening…or you’re just not ready…or you’re not as willing as you thought you were.  Sometimes He’ll respond immediately.  Sometimes, you may have to wait a while.  Sometimes, it’s a feeling that envelops you.  Sometimes, if you need something, the answer is “Yes”. Sometimes, when it’s something you want, it’s “No”.  Sometimes, if you’re in a hurry, the answer is “Wait”.  Sometimes, it’s “DO IT NOW”!

Sometimes, like what’s happened many times for me, the answer comes as a conversation that grows…where He teaches me things, explains things in my mind, draws connections to different things, or just plain gives me assurance.  But it always ends with, “So now what?” Then, I have to think about what I’m going to do about it.  And so must we all.

This is the Holy Ghost… doing His job of sending you the answer that you need…in your heart as feelings…AND in your mind as thoughts, both confirming each other of the things you need to do thereafter.

Talking to God is an active responsibility, isn’t it?  There really are answers and resolutions to the questions and issues the burn within us.  There are mysteries that we want solved, for which we seek understanding.  No honest, sincere, question is too unimportant.  And no one is insignificant that He won’t take the time to listen, and talk to you.

Thus, the greatest mystery we need to understand…is our relationship with God and how we decide to act upon that relationship.  He’ll give us what we need if we want Him as our partner in this life.  There’s trust that has to happen there, especially since we can’t see Him with our physical eyes.  That’s Faith.  There’s Love that has to happen there…because we’ll love the one we trust.  But He has a work to do, and He’s given us our particular responsibilities here on earth to do our part in that work.  Yes, we have our current life to live, our school, our jobs, our day-to-day living, and all the people we come across…from family…friends…all the way to complete strangers.  Are we ready to set aside for a while our own thing…and do His work, what He needs us to do…while we live our current life?  That takes Obedience…because we Love Him…and we want to do our part.

God wants to talk to us.  He is your Father, my Father, our Father…in Heaven, and He truly loves you.  Regardless of how you…or anyone else…may see fathers now, talk to Him.  Give Him your questions.  Listen, carefully and honestly.  Be ready to embrace what He gives you, and be ready to do something with it.

“O God, … if there is a God, and if thou art God, wilt thou make thyself known unto me, and I will give away all my sins to know thee…”  (link)

I don’t know why I woke up with that dream, but I feel that this post is an answer for someone else, someone who’s looking for an answer, someone looking for God, someone who’s really wanting to know.  May it help you, as much as I desire it to be of help…to them.

